Fraser Northwest Division of Family Practice Logo

Fraser Northwest Division Annual Awards and 10 Year Anniversary

For Immediate Release

September 29, 2021

On September 23rd, 2021 the Fraser Northwest Division of Family Practice presented awards to local Physicians practicing in the FNW regions of New Westminster and Tri-Cities. 

These awards were presented at the Fraser Northwest Division Annual General Meeting, which also celebrated the 10 year anniversary of the FNW Division. Throughout the years, programs and initiatives have shifted but the overall goals and values all remain the same. Supporting members, appreciating strength and diversity, approaching work with collaboration, transparency, authenticity, integrity, and accountability and striving to be fiscally responsible all remain the core values of the Division. Building a positive primary care experience fuels the drive and commitment that the Division members have carried with them since 2010.


Fraser Northwest Division 2021 Awards:

  1. Family Doctor of the Year: Dr. Ian Woods; Coquitlam
  2. COVID-19 Responder All-Star Team: Drs Carllin Man, Jordan Sugie and Vincent Wong; Tri-Cities 
  3. Patient Care Team Member of the Year: Dr. Mei-ling Wiedmeyer; New Westminster
  4. Hospitalist of the Year: Dr. Earl Morris; Port Moody
  5. Quality Improvement Champion of the Year: Dr. Patricia Gabriel; Coquitlam
  6. Specialist of the Year: Dr. Kevin Lee; New Westminster


This year’s ”Family Doctor of the Year” award winner is Dr. Ian Woods. He is a family physician in Port Coquitlam, BC and has been practicing for over 44 years.


“He treats people like family, which is really important for a lot of people. Every day he does something that goes above and beyond for people.” - MOA at Burke Mountain Medical Clinic.


“Being nominated for this award is not only a surprise but it’s also humbling. It’s a gift to be a part of family growth and seeing families evolve dealing with the ups and downs, the challenges and the good times.” - Dr. Ian Woods, Family Doctor of the Year Award Winner.


When the Covid-19 and Influenza-Like Symptom Assessment Centre in New Westminster had to close down, family doctors recognized the gap created with patients who still needed in-person assessments. Physicians and nurses in the FNW quickly mobilized to launch a new clinic in the Tri-Cities, led by hard-working and dedicated family doctors, including Drs Carllin Man, Jordan Sugie and Vincent Wong. The COVID-19 Responder All-Star Team was awarded to these three physicians for their tireless efforts to protect patients and the community during this pandemic and make sure health care could still be delivered in-person to patients who needed it. 


Being treated with compassion and care is what every patient wants and deserves. It's important to see the person before the issue, which is what Dr. Mei-ling Wiedmeyer does every day when she talks to patients, making her deserving of this year’s Patient Care Team Member of the Year award.


“It doesn’t matter who you are or where you come from or the colour of your skin, she treats people equally and with respect. Some people are born to do something and I believe Dr. Wiedmeyer is born to be a medical doctor.” - Glady Wak (colleague)


“Patient care is a lot of things but the way I see it is providing care for our whole patients but also for our colleagues as we work together. Team-based care sees people as people and knowing that when you walk into a room your position changes and being able to attend to those differences of each individual.” - Dr. Mei-ling Wiedmeyer.


The 2021 Specialist of the Year award winner is Vascular Surgeon Dr. Kevin Lee. “He shows an immense amount of care for his patients,” says Dr. William Mak, a family physician and colleague of Dr. Kevin Lee.

“Just knowing that it's the hardest point in a patient's life and I’m there to help them is very rewarding” - Dr. Kevin Lee

The 2021 Hospitalist of the Year was awarded to Dr. Earl Morris who practices at the Eagle Ridge Hospital in Port Moody. Dr. Morris’ younger colleagues consider him to be a father figure in their circle, for his guidance and wisdom both in and outside of the hospital. “He holds us all to a higher standard of care, and is a ‘dad’ of our program who we can come talk to about our challenging cases for support” says Dr. Brent Gall. 


The Quality Improvement Champion of the Year was Dr. Patricia Gabriel, whose colleagues speak glowingly about her contribution to continuous improvement and dedication to patient care. 

“Patricia is a very smart, very organized, very hard working, and very kind person. She is the core person at the Meadowbrook Family Practice. She keeps us all together, both physicians and staff. She is able to find a solution to any problem we throw at her. I can ask her any question and she will always answer me with a big smile on her face. She is pragmatic, professional, and thinks outside the box. She is always looking for ways to improve our work environment as a team. She makes sure everybody feels heard, and I'm so happy to be a member of the Meadowbrook Team.”  - Dr. Anna Chodyra


Every year at the Fraser Northwest Annual General Meeting in September, milestones are celebrated and the Division takes time to reflect on all the amazing work that family physicians have done for the community. 



Fraser Northwest Division of Family Practice is one of 35 divisions in British Columbia that make up the Divisions of Family Practice, an initiative of the Family Practice Services Committee, a partnership between the Province of B.C. and Doctors of B.C. Fraser Northwest Division of Family Practice currently has over 450 members that provide primary care services in Anmore, Belcarra, Coquitlam, New Westminster, Port Coquitlam and Port Moody.



Fraser Northwest Division




Media contact

Kristan Ash